On a mission

I work with refugees and asylum seekers (RAS). This is pretty much a seven day a week job. I get paid for three, three are voluntary and the other is unpredictable. What prevails above and beyond all of this is that is just looks like friendship and most of the time it doesn’t feel like a job at all.

I have been in my new role as ‘Project officer’ in the multi-faith centre for around three weeks now. What has astounded me the most is how both my volunteer role and new job compliment each other so well. My new role gives me the opportunity to train statutory services and myth bust around the area of (RAS). I get to raise awareness with community groups, publish positive news stories, compile new case studies and host forums which give (RAS) a voice to share their experiences and be heard by statutory services and other organisations that come along. Although a lot of my new role doesn’t involve direct work with (RAS), it’s working on behalf of the people group and this excites me greatly.

I’m on a mission to make a difference. I want to change the way people not only think about RAS but the way the services interact with RAS. I want people to recognise the truth about many RAS situations and that we don’t have to travel to far afield lands in order to make an impact, change or meet a RAS. In fact the reality is that there’s most likely a RAS living in your town, city, at your child’s school or attending the same community activities as you.

My work as a volunteer is far more practical. I befriend RAS as they arrive in the city ensuring they have access to the most basic needs and can begin to orient themselves in their new location. In addition to this, I help run ‘Open word’ sessions which aim to essentially teach English through the Bible. It’s an amazing opportunity for RAS to not only learn English but begin to discover the true nature and love of Jesus. It’s very exciting to be a part of and I’m very new to this part of volunteering but intrigued and excited to see where it leads. Finally, as a volunteer I help with the community lunches which happen once a week followed by some sort of training or trip. I get to have conversations, laugh a lot and learn a lot. The relationships I have built with RAS are most definitely almost always two way. We learn from one another, make mistakes with one another and journey with one another. I am truly blessed and honoured be journeying with  some of the most incredible people.

I thank God for so many blessings and opportunities in my life and the opportunity to help others.

One thought on “On a mission

Leave a comment